Can you carry more than 14 clubs if the extras aren’t stored in your bag?

Bizar Male

Is it permissible to carry clubs outside of your bag and not have them count toward the legal limit of 14?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Can you carry clubs outside of your bag and not have them count toward the legal limit of 14? —Joseph Mills, Pinehurst, N.C.

Yes… but only if you balance them on your nose.

Come now, Joseph—14 clubs maximum means 14 clubs maximum (per Rule 4.1b[1]), not 14 clubs and however many more you can stash under your armpit, in your opponent’s bag and behind bushes.

Breaching this rule is a two-stroke penalty per hole in stroke play, maximum two holes, and once you realize you’re in breach you must declare the extra clubs out of play immediately or be disqualified. Golf is a game of honor, not hoarding.

Hey, speaking of the legalities of 14+-club scenarios, remember this ruling from November?

Mid-round, a golfer realizes that his driver is missing. He calls the pro shop and asks if anyone has turned it in. No, but a marshal soon arrives with a loaner driver, which the player uses. A few holes later, the marshal returns — with the golfer’s original driver, finally found. They now switch out the player’s borrowed club for his own, which he proceeds to use. He never had more than 14 clubs in his bag. Is there any penalty in this scenario? —Cal Shipman, via email

Rules Guy: When playing lift, clean and place, can you move the ball with your club?

By:

Rules Guy



A question for you, Cal — when did this scatterbrain lose his driver? It makes all the difference here.

Let’s say he left it on a tee box at the club yesterday and unwittingly arrived on the first tee today with 13 clubs in his bag. In that case, he’s fine, as clubs can be added mid-round (borrowed, retrieved from one’s locker, what have you) so long as he doesn’t exceed 14 clubs or use a club that someone else is using.

Conversely, if Mr. Absent-Minded lost his driver during today’s round, he’s got a problem, because a lost club still counts toward one’s total during a round. That loaner driver means he now has 15 clubs, and once this is realized the player must declare it out of play, and he gets a two-stroke penalty per hole for the violation for a maximum of two holes in stroke play

In match play, you finish playing out the hole when this is realized, and at the end of that hole, whatever the status of the match is, there follows a maximum adjustment of two holes to the state of the match.

In either case, once you become aware of the rules breach, you must immediately declare the club out of play — fail to do so, and you’re disqualified. 

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to [email protected] We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

generic profile image

Next Post

Juan Williams: GOP turns lies into laws

You know President TrumpDonald TrumpHow the United States can pass Civics 101 Elon Musk asks Twitter for skit ideas ahead of ‘Saturday Night Live’ appearance States now flush with cash after depths of pandemic MORE’s “Big Lie.” Now the right-wing echo chamber is exploding with little lies. First, conservative papers […]